Don’t worry, be happy!

I’m kinda getting sick of hearing my friends complain about their oh-so-terrible lives on facebook. For instance, one of my friend’s status update today is as follows: “lost my phone… for a long time. Thanks [name]. [bleep] you too. [bleep] my life.” And before that, “[bleep] my life”. And I admit I may be jumping to conclusions here. Maybe she’ s really going through some deep emotional trauma that I just don’t know about. I doubt it, though. The girl in question is not only completely and totally drop dead gorgeous and very popular, she’s also got a pretty darn good life if you ask me. So she loses her phone, and she decides that her life sucks? Very mature.

See, I think this world would be a heckuva lot better if people would learn to appreciate what they have. Okay, so your phone got taken away for a while. I think you’ll live. Look at what all you have! No, I’m not saying you have to be all “happy happy joy joy” all the time. We’re human- we’re allowed to get sad every once in a while. However, to constantly act negative when other people would kill for what you have seems a littl selfish to me. I’m not saying I’m perfect. I get in those moods too. I just think that if you sat back and looked at what you do have a little bit more often, life would be a lot better. Complaining about how miserable you are isn’t going to help anything.

8 Responses

  1. I agree with you in this so much.

    Even if she’s drop dead gorgeous and popular, though, people are sometimes more troubled than they say. I speak from my own experience, but, I also try my best to stay away from complete negativity.

    It’s okay to slump in sadness once in a while, but to block ourselves from seeing the good in life every single day is not good, either. I’m not trying to judge, because I know how bad days feel, but I’ve had my phone lost for a long, long time, until it got cancelled, and I found a way to laugh about it. It actually was REALLY funny, haha, losing a phone. 😀

    Anyway, I guess I just wanted to say that I know how you feel. I am annoyed of my own complaints sometimes, this sure put me in my place. 🙂

  2. Excellent comment, cheesecake. 😀 Glad to know I’m not alone!

  3. Um, amennnnnnn. Tru nuff.

  4. Why thank you, Kait! 😀

  5. I agree. I will admit when I feel super-upset I complain a lot, but other than that I’m pretty laid back.

    Dad: ….I’m taking your phone away.

    Me: For how long?

    Dad: 2 weeks

    Me: Aw well, okay.

    instead of

    Dad: Im taking your phone away

    Me: I HATE YOU! (dramatization)

  6. Oh yeah. Complaining every once in a while is fine. 🙂 But when you do it day in and day out it’s kind of annoying. 😛

  7. totally agree but i realised the other day even though my phone isn’t used very much i feel secure when i have it and all alone when i don’t.

  8. agreed.

Leave a Reply

