Sailing over wave and tide, oh…

It’s our second full day here at the beach, and I’m having the time of my life. The ocean is absolutely gorgeous, and I’ve spent my mornings flopping around in it like an overgrown fish. I’m not the type of girl who lays on her towel with her big sunglasses and tan. That doesn’t appeal to me. I’m the one in the water doing flips, diving into waves, and so on. I’ve always had a thing for water and nautical things (boats, lighthouses, ect)… maybe it has something to do with the fact that we’ve been coming to the beach at least once a year since I was an infant, so I sort of grew up here. My favorite place to visit in Florida is Seaside. I love the whole rustic, close-knit atmosphere. We stayed in a cottage over fall break last year. It rained the entire time, which was absolutely perfect to me. I love gloomy days at the beach. We’re not at Seaside this time (we’re in Destin), but my family is renting a cottage up there for fall break again. I’m already excited.

Anyways, tonight we’re attending the party for all of the cardiologists. It’s always a bunch of fun… plus, there’s karaoke! I’ll make sure to post pictures. Maybe I’ll even get myself one of those disposable underwater cameras and take some pictures in the ocean. You can see all the way to the bottom even when you can’t touch it… isn’t that incredible? Oh, I love the water so much. Maybe I was a mermaid in a past life.

7 Responses

  1. Awww, I’m jealous. I didn’t know you were going to the beach. I’m leaving for Gatlinburg tomorrow. Yay! I’m getting so completely bored around the house.

    On a different note (no pun intended), I’m most likely getting a keyboard soon. I’ve been wanting to learn how to play the piano for a while now, and as we have no room for a piano in our house, a keyboard is the next best thing. It’ll be nice when I can play more than Jingle Bells with a single finger. You must teach me how to play that one Hush Sound song you were playing the night of dress rehearsal. It was so pretty 🙂

  2. Oooh, Gatlinburg! Are you guys still wearing those awful matching T-shirts? XD

    Yay! I can definitely teach you some songs. 🙂 D’you think you’re going to take lessons?

  3. Unfortunantly, yes. We are. They are a light blue tie-dye color. Me and Abby plan on bringing a change of clothes to change into once we get there and seperate from the adults. Then, we’re going to hope we don’t run into our parents later on. Or that our other cousin who will be with us will tattle.

    Nah, I’m not going to take any lessons. I’ll buy some books with beginner music in it and teach myself. I already know how to read music. I figure it can’t be too difficult.

  4. That’s an excellent idea. The T-shirts sound like absolute nightmares. Why do your parents want you to wear them again?

    And that sounds like a plan! It’s just a matter of practicing once you know how to read notes (and when you know where said notes are located on the piano). If you need any help just ask!

  5. It’s not my parents. My mom isn’t too happy with the tshirts either. My two aunts just decided it was a good idea I guess. That, or they just amuse themselves with our suffering, which is entirely possible. Speaking of one of those aunts, she, my uncle, and my cousin who live further up north arrived at the cabin today. They say it’s really amazing. My mom is still stressing over the sleeping arrangements. We had to go to Sam’s the other day to get her some wine coolers for the trip. XD

    I’ll probably end up getting some tape with the notes written on them to stick on their designated keys in the beginning. To me, that sounds like the most difficult part: figuring out where the different keys are.

  6. I absolutely love Gatlinburg. I’m sure, regardless of whether you wear the dreaded T-shirts or not, you’ll have a great time. And Abby’s going to be there, so you’ll have someone to hang out with. 😀 I’m incredibly jealous.

    And the keys are actually pretty simple, or at least the major keys are. Starting at middle C (I’m sure you know where that is), they go C D E F G A B C. 🙂

  7. I know they go in order. The problem is that I don’t know where the middle C is. But, I’ll learn 🙂

    So I just got to the cabin. It’s incredibly gorgeous and there’s this gigantic projector screen outside where the balconies (which are on two stories of the three story cabin) can see. The major problem right now is the sleeping arrangements. There are six bedrooms, four couples, my uncle, and me, my four cousins, and my sister. Which means, the six kids might end up sharing a room. Did I mention that one of my cousins is a 12 year old boy? Nothing against him, but I don’t want to share a room with an almost teenage boy. There are like five sleeper sofas, so I’m hoping him and my other 9-year old boy cousin can sleep on them or something. Not to mention, the majority of the adults in my family are major snorers. Oh, and there’s only one sink in my room. Four girls are one sink do not equate. And my parents’ room is two stories above mine. – Sigh. – Don’t you love family vacations?

Leave a Reply

