I can’t help but worry about today’s youth.

Howdy doody there! Before we get started on today’s post, I would like to plug a blog that I discovered today. It’s called Funny Little Bursts of Creativity, and you can find it at passionateforwords.wordpress.com. I’ve been reading it nonstop all day, and I think you should give it a look-see.

Aaaanyways, on to today’s post! I’ve been wanting to blog about this subject for AGES, but for one reason or another I’ve really never gotten around to it. So, before we really get started, let me provide you with a short anecdote. Remember that musical theater workshop I did? I helped out with the morning class for ages 12 and under, so for some of the group dance numbers I was paired with a little kid. My smallish partner turned out to be an 8 or 9-year-old girl. She was cute as a button, but I don’t think she was too terribly fond of me (or any other “big kids”, for that matter). The child completely ignored the fact that I had been doing theater since before she was born and tried to correct every little thing I did, even when she was doing things wrong. She would not let me touch her either. When we finally got to split up during the opening number, her comment was this: “yay, I get to be away from you!”. Polite, right?

When I was her age, I would’ve been in a LOT of trouble if I behaved like that towards someone older than me, so I knew never be a brat around anyone. But this child didn’t seem to care. I couldn’t help but wonder what her mother would’ve thought if she was observing her daughter. Would she even mind? I mean, if the kid was taught proper manners she wouldn’t be acting like this at all, right?

I still don’t know why the kid was being so disrespectful, but part of me thinks that she was trying to act all “cool” around the big kids. Of course I could be completely and totally off, but still. How come tweens these days are so determined to grow up? They’re getting phones (nicer than mine, might I add) and boyfriends at younger and younger ages. I think it’s ridiculous. There was a little 11-year-old girl in the workshop who, much to my surprise, added me on Facebook soon after it was over. Why does an 11-year-old need a Facebook?. I read her “about me” section and discovered she also has a boyfriend. What?

However, I’m not too terribly worried yet, and here’s why. Recently I’ve been babysitting for an 11-year-old girl who gives me hope for tween-kind. She was telling me how she feels like she doesn’t need to kiss boys or get a Facebook or a cell phone just because all the other girls do, and I couldn’t help but be impressed. She doesn’t dress in those horrible short-shorts or tight Abercrombie T-shirts, and she’s very well-spoken. Maybe there are more girls out there like her and I just haven’t met them.

So how do you feel about these girls growing up too fast? Me, every time I see a little girl in skimpy clothes texting on her touch-screen cell phone I die a little inside. Seriously.

5 Responses

  1. the average age now for a child to get a phone is 8. i got mine when i was 11 and starting secondary school.

    tweens should be know as kids and therefore should act like kids. I hate hate seeing young girls try to act like they are 16.

    Yesterday we had the year 6’s come from their primary schools to have an induction day into secondary life. Many of these girls were wearing short shorts @ SCHOOL!!! even i don’t wear shorts that short!!

    i feel so old and slightly disgusted

  2. I got my first phone when I was 11 as well, but only because I needed it to call my mom after rehearsals. I didn’t start using it for social purposes until I was 13 because I really didn’t need to until then.

    And I know what you mean about the short shorts. I assistant teach a drama class for kids about that age, so I’ve definitely seen my share of innapropriate clothing. >.<

  3. THANKS FOR THE SHOUTOUT! PWN!

    I got my first cell phone for my 12th birthday. 6th grade.
    HEY I HAVE A TOUCH SCREEN CELL PHONE. xD

  4. Teehee, no problemo! And you’ve also been featured under the “More Dorkiness” tab. Because you’re just that awesome.

    And you can have all the touch screen cellphones you want- you’re 15! But when I see 9-year-olds with them, I get concerned. Like I was walking in Target today and I saw these two underdressed little girls texting on their phones. I asked them how old they were, and they said they were 9. o_o Why…?

  5. I know the feeling….the kids at my old daycare I worked at……age like 9-10…all had cellphones, a ton had boyfriends….and they had sailors mouths if you got them going. Really…..I didn’t think I was too sheltered as a child but I don’t remember it being this bad.

Leave a Reply

