Harry Potter, frogs, and… Huck Finn? Oy.

I don’t know what to blog about today, so I’m going to be skipping around a little. Bear with me, okay? Anyways, first of all I’m going to talk about something I’m sure millions of people have already been talking about this past week. That something is the Harry Potter  movie. I don’t care how popular it is- I am a die-hard Potter fan with a slight crush on Ron Weasley. I have very fond memories of having my mother read the books aloud to me as a little kid. When I was really little my mother was convinced that they were evil, but thank goodness she eventually got over that. Now the entire family is Potter crazy (even though my little brother has a bit of trouble comprehending the movies). So the 6th movie… it was definitely as great as I expected it to be. It certainly was darker than the first few films, but I think that’s what I liked about it. Haven’t seen it yet? Do it. Now. Do it or I’ll sic my hedgehogs on you!

Anyways, I’m stuck up at the lakehouse. Again. There is NOTHING to do up here except do nothing on the computer and re-watch The Nanny (which actually is pretty fun… I love me some Fran). My mother will not allow me to read any pleasure books until I finish my summer reading, which I keep putting off. What is my summer reading, you ask? Well, I have two books- The  Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglas (which really is very good, and I’m almost done with it) and Huckleberry Finn.

Oh… Huckleberry Finn. Anyone else read that book? I know it’s commonly regarded as a great literary classic, but I don’t give a flying furball. I hate that book with the passion of ten thousand suns and I’m pretty sure the feeling is mutual because the stupid thing won’t pick up the pace! I’m having trouble following it (which says a lot because I am a very advanced reader) because of the way it’s written… in Southern dialect. I’m from the South, but I am NOT a Southern girl in the least. Therefore, I’m not good with Southern dialect. So are you guys being forced to read Huck Finn as well? If so, what do you think about it? Me, I would rather go 6 months without watching The Nanny than have to re-read that book. Okay, maybe that’s an exaggeration. Like I said before, I love me some Fran.

Anyways… I think that’s about all I have to talk about today. My summer is rather uninteresting at the moment. So, until I think of something better to blog about, I shall leave you with some pictures from my Atlanta trip.

Bill the frog. We found him in the pool out back! He was a bit of a lump, though. Ricardo, the second frog we found, was a lot more active. Maybe its because of his spicy Latin blood.

Bill the frog. We found him in the pool out back! He was a bit of a lump, though. Ricardo, the second frog we found, was a lot more active. Maybe it's because of his spicy Latin blood.

Karen and I outside the pool. Dont ask what were doing, because you really dont want to know.

Karen and I outside the pool. Don't ask what we're doing, because you really don't want to know.

This is so Cocoa...

This is so Cocoa...

MORE FLIPPING JONAS BROTHERS. That room was a nightmare...

MORE FLIPPING JONAS BROTHERS. That room was a nightmare... (if you don't know what I'm talking about, please refer to the "posters" post from July 13th.

6 Responses

  1. i am seeing potter today.

    I am a fan of the books but when something becomes so BIG i tend to go off them, like twilight (Books-real good Film-not so good)

    On the topic of Ron i saw a girl wearing a t-shirt that said i (heart) Ron Weasley. I want that t-shirt.

    summer is alright here but i know that feeling of being bored !

  2. Wait, why is it that “millions of teenage girls” are talking about Harry Potter? In my experience, it’s everyone. All ages, all genders. It’s not a chick flick…
    Hehe, a flying furball. That’s pretty much adorable.
    OH MY GOD BILL THE FROG IS SO CUTE OH MY GOD.
    HAHAHA I don’t know if I commented on the Jonas Brother cutout post (I’ve been rather busy, my apologies, I usually comment on every blog I read) but that is ABSOLUTELY HILARIOUS.
    Your blog is seriously awesome. =]

  3. Caitlin, I promise you will love Potter. It was incredibly awesome. Of course it was darker than the other five, but that’s to be expected if you’ve read the books.

    And Marissa, I admit that I kind of mis-phrased that. I used the teenage girl example because I normally only read blogs from teenage girls, and most of them have talked about HP already. But yeah, it’s definitely not a chick flick in the least. So thank you for pointing that out! 😀 *goes to change to prevent further misunderstandings*

    Yes, Bill is pretty adorable, huh? Karen was scared of him, but her younger sister Christy and I played with him for the longest time. He hopped down my shirt once or twice, but I forgave him.

    And I’m glad that something good came out of that Jonas room. I was terrified out of my wits in that place, but looking back I s’pose it did make for a rather hilarious situation. Unfortunately that wasn’t all the Jonas in the room… here are some more photos.

  4. I liked Huck Finn, but I’ve found a book is worse when you’re forced to read it.
    YEAH Harry Potter

  5. Saw it. Amazing.

  6. Haha, I agree about being forced to read a book. It always takes a bit of fun out of things. Unfortunately I haven’t read hardly any books for fun this summer because my mother is forcing me to read most of the suggested summer reading as well. However, one of those suggested books is Shadow of the Wind, and I’m really enjoying that one.

    I knew you’d like it, Caitlin!

Leave a Reply

