Oy, what a night!

So last night I did something incredibly stupid. It was about 11 o’clock and my stomach was making horrible noises, so I got a protein bar out of the pantry. As you may or may not know, I have some pretty severe food allergies (the worst being egg, which can send me into anaphylactic shock, and follow by tomatoes and potatoes), so I made sure to check the wrapper several times before chowing down. I didn’t recognize ay of the allergens, so I went ahead and devoured it. Big mistake.

About  5 minutes later I noticed a strange feeling in my throat which soon gave way to a horrible stabbing pain in my back and intense nausea. I couldn’t even move and ended up keeled over on my floor with my head hanging over a bowl in case the Luna bar decided to come back up. It didn’t, and the pain eventually subsided and I fell asleep. But around 2 AM I woke back up. There was no stabbing pain, but my nausea had come back with a vengeance. My dad quickly took me to the hospital.

We ended up leaving the hospital around 5 AM after several IVs, more horrible nausea, and a really bad case of the chills. It was a pretty horrible night, and the fact that I had “They’re Coming to Take Me Away, Ha-Haa” stuck in my head the entire time certainly didn’t help anything. But the whole ordeal wasn’t for nothing as I did manage to learn several valuable lessons during my stay, the first being that people tend to look really cheesed off in a hospital waiting room at 2:30 in the morning. I swear, I got the most ugly looks from this middle aged woman while we were waiting to be admitted. The second is that, even though teenagers use the pediatric ER as well, the hospital still insists to decorate it with crudely drawn butterflies and awful pictures of clowns. Third, according to a sign in the waiting room, “Es La Ley” means it’s the law in Spanish. La? The law is female? Hmm.

Oh, and I forgot. I learned another valuable lesson that night as well. Three guesses as to what it is. No idea? Okay, I’ll tell you. I’ve learned that it’s probably a very good idea to stay away from protein bars.

2 Responses

  1. THERE ARE NO COMMENTS ON THIS POST?! BLASPHEMY.
    Cocoa, what a terrible night. I am very sorry. The ending made me smile a little bit though.
    The only think I’m allergic to is dogs with really long hair. And only when the hair gets in my nose. So, y’know, I rarely suffer from it.
    Sorry again, friend!

  2. Aww, thank you Marissa. 🙂 Everything is fine now, thank goodness. Ya just have to be careful when you’re allergic to the entire Southeast.

    I’m allergic to basically everything but dogs now, which is bizarre because I used to be so allergic to them that I couldn’t spend the night at people’s houses if they had dogs. But now I can snuggle them all I want without a reaction, which makes me happy. Cats, on the other hand, are another story…

Leave a Reply

