It’s officially August!

School starts in 8 days and I don’t know whether to throw a temper tantrum or a party. Sure I’m going to miss sleeping in till noon, but this summer has been relatively boring and I’m kind of glad that I’ll get an excuse to do something soon. But until then I have no clue what I’ll do… maybe I should get my permit. Or maybe I could just sit around the house doing nothing on the internet or reading my life away. Knowing me, I’ll probably end up putting off my responsibilities and do the latter.

A lot of people have asked me if I’m nervous about returning to public school. I can imagine how most people would be (after all, I’ve been home-schooled since 5th grade), but I personally am not. Sometimes I think I should be, though. Naturally I am an insecure person and I know that it’s going to be a big adjustment for me, but I’m still more excited than I am nervous or worried. Maybe that’s a good thing, or maybe I’m just being overly cocky. I guess I’ll have to wait until I find out which.

Anyways, before we move on, I’d like to give a big thanks to two people, Marissa and the writer of journalhighscool.com. Both of which have mentioned or featured me on their blogs within the past week and I couldn’t appreciate it more. Oh, and both of them are pretty awesome people. Thank you guys! It’s good to know that people actually pay attention to this blog every once in a while. 🙂

Last but not least, I’d like to follow up to the last blog post, which was entitled “Guilt”. Just so you guys know, I’m feeling a lot better now. Really, I am. I think this whole ordeal really proved to be a lesson for me, albeit a hard one, but a lesson nonetheless. I learned that it’s okay to let go. I’m not going to carry on a friendship with someone who brings me down instead of someone who makes me feel better about myself, so until my friend gets her life sorted out, it’s just best if we just parted ways for a while. And you know what? It’s kind of a relief. I don’t have to worry about her anymore, and I don’t feel guilty.

So have you guys had any experiences like this with friends? Just post ’em in the comments. You don’t have to be a WordPress member or anything. 🙂
-C

6 Responses

  1. hey hey, first off…great blog! i like the layout and you write very well.
    second…you start school in 8 days?! that’s bloody early. here the kids don’t start school until September 8th.
    third…you should definitely get the permit before school starts.
    and finally…we all have friends that give us a difficult time sometimes. eventually we may get back to them or both parties may move on. but you’ve gotta do what’s good for you. i used to have a friend…oi, was she evil. i swear she had perpetual pms. anywhoo, after a while of dealing with her constant put downs and general obnoxiousness, i decided to end the friendship. that was the best thing for everybody as it turned out. she went on her merry way…i went my way… things were better like that. you should never let your friends bring you down or make you feel guilty for wanting to move on. i don’t know what your situation was exactly, but i’m glad you feel better.

  2. Thank you very much! 🙂

    In a way I wish my summer would last a bit longer, but then again I have basically nothing to do at home except sit on my rear and blog all day. So maybe school is a good thing. XD And I had a long summer- here I got out around May 30th.

    That’s a lot like the situation with my friend, except this girl actually has some very serious mental problems. I’ve put up with it for a while, but she’s just not getting better and I cannot deal with her moodiness, unpredictability, and put-downs any more. I’ve been doing that for the past two years, and I can’t take it anymore. She refuses any help, and I’m not making excuses for her anymore.

    Anyways, thanks so much for the comment! It’s always nice to see I have a new reader. 🙂

  3. Stupid wordpress. LET ME COMMENT.

  4. Oh that worked. Wonderful.
    Woah, you guys start school early! We start on September 1st.
    YOU’RE SO BRAVE. ❤
    Do I use the heart icon too much? Is it creepy?
    HEY THAT'S ME! Awww, thanks. I love your blog!
    YAY, you're feeling better! That makes me so happy.
    I AM COMMENTING.
    Hmmm, I've had a lot of experiences like that with friends. I can't really think of any right now. Sorry, that SO is not helpful.

  5. Woah, you guys start school early! We start on September 1st.
    YOU’RE SO BRAVE.
    HEY THAT’S ME! Awww, thanks. I love your blog!
    YAY, you’re feeling better! That makes me so happy.
    I AM COMMENTING.
    Hmmm, I’ve had a lot of experiences like that with friends. I can’t really think of any right now. Sorry, that SO is not helpful.

  6. YAY MARISSA COMMENTS! 😀
    Yes, we do start school early. Actually we start school today. D: It’s 6:51 in the morning and I just hopped out of the shower.
    And don’t worry, you are in no way required to post a specific experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

