I’m ready for this. Are you?

School starts on Monday and this is my last non-school night of the summer. Sad, huh? A lot of people have been asking me if I’m nervous about starting public school for the first time since 5th grade (and that was a private school). I think they expect me to be nervous. But truthfully I’m not, or at least not right now. In fact, I’m more excited than anything else.

I do have one concern, though. I found out a couple days ago that apparently the majority of my old school school (a home schooling cover) found me annoying. I mean, I sort of knew that already- I didn’t have many friends. It was a very clique-y and there wasn’t a wide variety of personalities in that place either. But hearing it in words just kind of stung. For the most part I really don’t care what people think of me as long as I have a few friends at school who stand by me. But at that place I didn’t have any good friends. Everybody knew everybody, it was an incredibly strict school (there were no dances, just a winter banquet for which your dress had to be pre-approved), and I felt out of place. I’m not saying it was a bad school; it just wasn’t the right fit for me. So what did I do? I ended up trying too hard to make friends, mainly because the entire school scared me out of my wits. But now I know my endeavors weren’t very successful. I hope the same thing doesn’t happen at the new school.

But the bright side is I never have to deal with a place like that again. Hopefully they’ll be a bit more accepting at a public school for the arts. My plan is not to try too hard and stay comfortable with who I am, because obviously I’m not changing. I’ll try my best not to be intimidated and just be myself. If people still don’t like me, fine. I guess I’ll just have to deal with it. But my hopes are high, and I think this will be a good experience for me. In fact, I even think that being at the home-schooling cover was a good experience for me. It helped me grow as a person. Now I’m more comfortable with myself than ever.

I wear fluffy hats. Don't like it? DEAL WITH IT.

3 Responses

  1. Good for you! That is awesome that you live in an area where you can go to a public school for the arts! I think that will make it alot easier to fit in. From my experiance people into the arts are a lot less expecting from their peers.

    THAT HAT IS AMAZING!! I ran into a guy wearing one of those hats in the store once, but he useally wore the ears tied up above his head, but they weren’t that the time, so they where like sitting straight out.

  2. I WANT THAT HAT! 🙂

    I hope the school thing works out for you! I can’t believe your summer is over, hopefully you’ve enjoyed your summer and all that.

    And your plan sounds awesome, and if it doesn’t work out – well you’ll just make it up as you go along.
    That’s life aint it?

  3. Michelle, so true. I guess you just have to take it as it hits ya sometimes. And Marina, like I said, my hopes are high. All of my good friends (with the exception of Ariella) I’ve met in a arts-related activity, so hopefully this new school won’t be too terrifying.

    And as for that hat, I so wanted to buy it. XD But I refrained… we were in a gas station in the middle of nowhere, so the quality wasn’t that great and it was sort of falling apart. Sad, eh?

Leave a Reply

