I’m not sheltered, guys!

For one reason or another some people at my school are convinced that I’m some sort of innocent child with the sexual vocabulary of a 10-year-old. Why? I have no clue. It probably has something to do with the fact that I don’t swear often and my sense of humor isn’t too terribly perverted. But does that mean you’ll soil my mind if you curse around me or make a dirty joke? Uh, not really. Honestly, folks! I don’t care! I make dirty jokes too, and I even swear once in a while.

Take yesterday at lunch, for instance. A guy at my table used a semi-dirty word, and you know what the girl beside him did? She hit him with a milk bottle. I kid you not. Apparently it was becase I “am a sweet innocent angel who should not hear those words”. Again, I kid you not. NEWSFLASH! I’ve heard it all, and it doesn’t bother me. Don’t feel like you have to watch every little thing you say around me, please. That just makes me uncomfortable.

However, that doesn’t mean I particularly like excessive cussing, especially when you’re just trying to be cool. When every other word that comes out of your mouth is some sort of swear, then yes, I get annoyed. Do I say anything? Absolutely not. I’m not THAT uptight. But it does bug me, and it also shows me you lack the vocabulary to better describe your feelings. That’s the only reason why I hardly ever curse. However, I’m totally fine with a swear thrown in here or there.

So what do you think? Is that the face of an innocent cherub or a perverted she-devil? Hm…

10 Responses

  1. Why can’t it be somewhere inbetween?
    More of an innocent she-devil? Is that possible?
    I get the same thing. When I let out swear I useally get gasps and stares of amusement, which are followed by a question along the lines of “You swear?”
    I am human, I’m not perfect, I think we all let out a curse here and there. yes even the perfect little catholic school girl might let one slip when she stubs her toe a little to hard.
    I MEAN COME ON! People these days.

  2. Let my rings of HALLELUJAH echo all throughout this blogiverse! I have no idea why I just said that.
    Anyways, yeah. People are certainly doorknobs when it comes to that stuff. I am pretty much the same way, although I make a lot of sexual jokes (as you might have noticed :P) because after years of public school and Michael Scott, my brain picks up on that stuff WAY too easily and you know I have to voice it. Not really in public, just in writing and phone conversations and stuff. Okay, actually, I don’t set UP the sexual jokes, I just play off of them. As for swearing, it’s hardly ever. I don’t say the “F-word” and I don’t like it when people do, but I say things like dumbass (that’s my new favorite word, after DOORKNOB of course) and damn and shit and crapola and stuff like that. 😀
    I think you look like the FACE OF AWESOME, that’s what I think. =]

  3. OMG I totally understand how you feel. I almost never swear, its not that I have a problem, it’s just I would rather say “shoot” than “sh*t”. And everyone is just like, “omg shes so sheltered blah blah” so annoying

  4. I swear like a sailor 😛
    But I know when to shut it off, like when I’m in a professional environment. (In class, at work ect) But when I’m in a comfortable setting (hanging out with friends, in m room ect) I swear a lot x.x

    I don’t exactly try to swear, I just do it. When people first hear me do it they gasp, because I’m small and school oriented but then they get to know me and don’t care anymore. I blame it on the guys I used to hang out with all the time. 🙂

    I also tend to swear a lot when I’m angry, mainly because when I’m angry I can’t really string a coherent sentence together, so I just go with the first thing that pops in my head.

    I make sexual jokes too but they’re mainly silly “That’s what she said” ones and not so serious things like that.

  5. OH!
    And I agree with Marina! Somewhere in between, but you do look kind of evil smirk like in that photo ;]

  6. yeah, it wasn’t until last year that my friends realized just how un untainted my mind is. i don’t curse alot, but i am prone to dirty innuendos ( in YOUR end-o! lol…) all because of a for now unmentionable game at my bff’s bday party. heh… good times, good times. We’re a very odd, kind of perverted group of people… we also have a tendancy to grope each other. needless to say, the people who sit around us always end up a few feet away from where they started. lol…

  7. Finally got around to reading your blog! Writing things down really does help! Anyway, I’ll try not to treat you like an innocent little child, then. Hopefully I’m not too bad about that stuff. If I’ve annoyed you in anyway, don’t hesitate to tell me.
    Anyway, I can totally agree with you. All through middle school people were surprised that I talked at all. So frustrating. Personally, I think your face just sorta looks… face-ish, y’know?

  8. Is this Phaedra? If so, absolutely not! You’ve been absolutely amazing.

    Face-ish? Well, that’s better than demon child. XD

  9. It is indeed Phaedra. I’m glad to hear that. I have a bad habit of accidentally making people mad at me. >.<
    Yeah, not that descriptive, but at least I didn't say something that sounds too ridiculous.

  10. A bit late responding, but that has never stopped me before.

    The idea of a theatre person being sheltered just amuses me to no end for some reason. Seriously, what haven’t we heard?
    That said, I don’t like to swear, although I will occasionally if I’m using a direct quote. Fahrenheit 451 with all the language taken out? Bad idea. Other than that, ‘Crap’ and ‘frikken’ are about my limit. But I usually don’t get offended if other people swear, because I hear it all the time.

Leave a Reply

