It’s kind of funny, actually…

Strangely enough, I love furniture stores. When I was little my parents moved from house to house, and it seemed we were almost always visiting them. We’d drive for an hour in the rain as I sat in the back seat reading my Series of Unfortunate Events until we got there. Inside it smelled like furniture polish (a smell oddly similar to that of a new car), and I’d go and explore the many different “rooms” as my parents shopped. I felt a bit like Alice in Wonderland- after all, I was in a strange, seemingly endless place with all this furniture and nobody to occupy it. Certainly someone had to live there, right? I remember wandering the stores, which were normally empty with no background music, and just being awestruck. They had a certain magic I couldn’t quite put my finger on. The furniture commercials that play incessantly on TV just don’t describe the actual places.

So today, in search of a desk for my room, I visited a furniture store for the first time since I was ten. After picking it out, I ventured into the depths of the store while my dad paid. Let me tell you, it was a pretty nostalgic. I wandered aimlessly through seas of countless couches and beds, completely and totally enthralled, before discovering something else amazing. That something, you ask? Mattresses.

I LOVE testing out matresses. It was such a fun thing flopping from bed to bed, my shoes lying by the door across the room, some upbeat song playing in the background. It was almost like a movie. You know those mattresses that you just sink right into? They had several of those, and I just rolled around on them, enjoying every minute. If you had been an innocent bystander observing my antics, I imagine you’d think I was insane. Maybe I am insane. After all, what normal kid likes furniture stores quite that much?

4 Responses

  1. see i go to IKEA and thats it. All the other furniture that is not from IKEA in out house, as we don’t get everything from there, my parents find in random shops. I want to go to the furniture store you went to šŸ™‚

    How is school?? i started yesterday

  2. Well your not normal but we like you that way šŸ™‚
    Furniture stores eh? I have decorating issues, so I would probably just go to IKEA and pick out an already decorated room/display thing and imitate it.

    šŸ˜›

  3. Why is it strange to like furniture stores?! THEY PWN.
    Hehe, I can just see a Cocoa bouncing all around to all of these mattresses.
    Don’t tell anyone (I say this on the internet HAHA), but I frequently pretend I’m in a movie. šŸ™‚

  4. Marissa, I do that ALL THE TIME. I’m not even kidding. XD

Leave a Reply

