Like, OMG! Teen books…

Hello dearest readers! Today I’ll talk about something I covered briefly a few months ago- the quality of teen books. Last night I went to Barnes and Noble on a quest for a decent teen book. Unfortunately that’s a lot harder than it sounds, especially when you’re confined to the teen section. Have you ever noticed that teen fiction is centered around girls making out with hot guys? Ugh. Books are getting so unoriginal nowadays. It’s only matter of time before books like this come out…

Jenny’s Hot Summer Romance
Summer is for surf, sun, sand, and hot guys, right? Well, not for Jenny. She’s hung up between four different guys, all of whom possessing many endearing qualities (like six packs). For one reason or another she’s completely unable to NOT focus on guys for five minutes and have some actual fun. Why? Well, I think she’s secretly unhappy with herself and seeks approval in male attention, but that’s just me.

Twilight Clone #93057
Boy meets girl. Girl discovers boy sucks the blood of the living and has a penchant for body glitter. Girl falls madly in love boy with even though boy wants to devour her. Boy eventually does eats girl while she’s dreaming about boy’s rippling muscles and pasty complexion. You know, the classic love story. Maybe it didn’t end quite like that, but you have no idea how much I wish it did…

Gossip Clique
A glamorous drama that chronicles the life of severa New York socialites. They’re mean and catty, but for one reason or another you’re supposed to actually like them. Also, in addition to their willingness to sleep with anything with a pulse, they’re drop dead gorgeous and have more money than they know what to do with. We know you’re jealous.

So what do you guys think? What book/book series/genre are you sick of seeing? As for me, I think I’ve made my point clear with this post…

Peace, love, and Fran Drescher,
Cocoa (:

9 Responses

  1. HAHAHAHA THIS MADE ME LAUGH SO MUCH.
    I agree 100%.

    Tell me, Cocoa, have you read any books by John Green? If not, READ THEM. ❤

  2. OH MY GOD.
    When I grow up, Cocoa, I want to be just like you, because this is gold.
    😀

    You know, a good (In my opinion) summery book is “This Lullaby” if you want a good teen read.

    Oh and about the Gossip Clique thingy (oh god I hate those…) Edith Wharton did it first in “Age of Innocence” except she’s cooler because it’s an American Classic so THERE ;D

    I’m pretty done with what YA authors write about “nerd girls” because they are either A. Nothing like an actual nerd girl and B. completely unrealistic.
    Plus the Cliche hot guy going for nerd girl thing is getting a little bit overwhelming, or better yet when the girl ends up with her best friend who’s always been there for her.

    It’s ick.

    D:

    DO US NERDY ONES JUSTICE WHY DON’T YOU!?
    *Gets down on knees*

  3. That’s amazing! I love the twilight clone one!!! <3333

  4. Oh my gosh, Marissa! XDDD I got out of school today and my mom’s like “I just ordered you a bunch of John Green books off Amazon!”. I hadn’t even told her that you mentioned them. Weird, eh?

    Michelle, I could not agree more. No, really… that’s a BIG issue with me. The whole nerdy thing in books is so horrible… I’m still waiting to stumble upon a book that features a genuine nerd as a character. Not the stereotypical, pi-equals-3.14 type nerd. WRITERS CAN BE NERDS TOO!! *sobs*

    And Marina, thank you very much! *grins*

  5. Hey!

    I agree with you. Although, I’ve never been much of a reader myself…Until, like, a month or so ago. But from the few times I’ve looked, the teen section has been a disaster. Certainly I’ve been labelled somewhat “boy-crazy” before, but when I’m reading, that’s not really what I want to hear about. That, among several reasons, is why I do not like being a teen.

    John Green is amazing! I haven’t read An Abundance Of Katherines yet, though. But I loved Paper Towns. The first night I got it I stayed up until two in the morning reading. xD

  6. I will be honest i love teen books like twilight but that doesn’t make them good.

    also John Green is amazing yet i still haven’t got round to reading one of his books!

  7. hmm. there are those teenage confessional books where there’s the introspective, quirky yet brave ick-figure who shares mundane details of her life with a diary or some ambiguous audince, apparantly under the impression they care.

  8. Twilight Clone #93057
    Boy meets girl. Girl discovers boy sucks the blood of the living and has a penchant for body glitter. Girl falls madly in love boy even though boy wants to devour her. Boy eventually does eats girl while she’s dreaming about boy’s rippling muscles and pasty complexion. You know, the classic love story. Maybe it didn’t end quite like that, but you have no idea how much I wish it did…

    This could easily be the greatest thing ever written. Charles Dickens has nothing on this.

  9. LOL well said!
    at the momment I’m sick of traditional love stories where girl meets guy, they’re not of equal status but they get married anyway in an act of defiance!

Leave a Reply

