Cows are nifty.

I’m sure you’ve heard me talk about how I ride my bike to the shopping center near my house, so you’ve probably gotten the impression that I live in a relatively urbanized area. In comparison to the other places in my state, I do. However, for one reason or another there’s a cow pasture right across from said shopping center. If you think about it it’s kind of a random place to put a cow pasture, seeing that this area is one of the busiest places in town. It’s full of office buildings, stores, a school, several doctors’ offices, and- BOOM!- a cow pasture.Ā  But then again, the pasture was there long before the buildings came along. Then the owners decided to sell it so people could build stuff. Typical…

The cow field! You can't see it, but there's this awesome pond with a fountain, water wheel, and weeping willow to the left of that fence.

The cow field! You can't see it, but there's this awesome pond with a fountain, water wheel, and weeping willow to the left of that fence.

My usual route home from Target is kind of odd. There’s the shopping center (albeit a pretty one, not like a strip mall or anything) in which Target is located, a retirement home, and an entire neighborhood on one side of the road, and on the other there’s cows and mountains. Funny, eh? However, I think it’s really nice. There’s a lot of rock work incorporated into the signs and whatnot, which I think is absolutely gorgeous, and there are tons of trees and flowers. Oh, and I didn’t mention the twenty-something beautification award signs scattered around. Anyways, while I was headed home today, I decided to visit the side with the cows and mountains, even though I had to jaywalk to get over there and back. Heh. There were a ton of cows out, and we exchanged long, passionate stares.

My cud-chewing cowfriend (yes, I did just steal that line from Denise Levertov) 731B, according to the tag on her ear. I renamed her Brenda.

My new cud-chewing cowfriend! Yes, I did just steal that line from Denise Levertov. Anyways, according to the tag on my new friend's ear, her name was 731B. I renamed her Brenda.

Call me a freak, but I absolutely love cows. We drive past that pasture on the way to school every morning, and they’re always fun to watch. Last week there was a calf hobbling around the field alongside its mother. I swear, it was the most adorable thing ever. Of course, cows don’t really do much besides stare blankly, munch on grass, and, uh, do their business, but I still remain fascinated with them. Every time I walk by that pasture the cows all gather around and look at me. Some even drool. It’s really cute… at least to me.

So, what is your opinion on cows? Do you like them? Fear them? Or, if you’re anything like that guy on this episode of House, do you find yourself madly in love with them? All cow-related opinions are welcome, so post them in the comments. You don’t have to be a WordPress member or anything. šŸ˜€

4 Responses

  1. hey cocoa! It’s Sari. Remember me?

  2. HAHAHAHA COCOA I LOVE YOU. “There were a ton of cows out, and we exchanged long, passionate stares.”
    I LOVE cows. I mean, I love alllll kinds of animals, I’m sure you know. BUT COWS RULE.
    You do know where I live right?
    <333

  3. I’m sure you would rock at a game of cows!
    xD

    I love that there’s a cow field right smack dab in the middle of the town.

    That’s so cool. I have to drive for a few hours before I hit the country side and another hour or so before we see any animals on said country side.

    You my friend, have all the luck šŸ™‚

  4. You know what is so cool about that farm? It is the largest working farm in an urban setting in the NATION. That’s just really cool to me. And they still own that distinction, even with all of the buildings that are down there. Really cool.

Leave a Reply

