She’s baaaack!

Yeah, yeah, I know. I’ve been gone a while (again), but I have an excuse this time! It’s a little thing called SEMESTER EXAMS. But have no fear! Exams are over, and I’m back… at least until finals.

Anyways, I s’pose you guys deserve an update on my life. First and foremost, I’m still adjusting to this whole public school thing. It’s certainly strange going from a not-sheltered-but-not-exactly-socialized home schooler to a full-fledged, dirty-joke-makin’ public school chica. Oh, and you also have to adjust to a whole new breed of people… you know, the people you thought only existed in books and bad teen movies. Do you know what I’m talking about? No? I’ll just elaborate, then.

For starters, it turns out real dumb blondes do exist, and they’re kind of scary. I’ve always thought the character Karen in Mean Girls (you know, this one) was over-exaggerated until I met her real-life doppleganger. She didn’t ask me how to spell orange and her boobs can’t predict the weather (as far as I know), but she’s still one of the slowest people I’ve ever met. No offense to the girl because I’m sure she’s very sweet, but she’s an intellect rivaled only by garden tools.

There’s also PDA. Lots of PDA. Back when I took home school classes, there was an invisible line between the boys and the girls. It probably wouldn’t be pretty if you crossed that line, so I stayed with my fellow XX chromosomes. But in public school it’s very rare to get to lunch without spotting a couple with their tongues down one another’s throat, which is really excellent. I’m certainly not stuck up, but seeing random strangers swapping spit in the middle of a crowded hallway is just a little on the disgusting side. PDA just isn’t my thing. However, due to the location of my locker (which I have lovingly dubbed the Locker of Love), I have to put up with it. You see, the person with the locker under mine seems to enjoy spending her time between periods engaging in a full-on makeout session with her boyfriend. That’s fine and dandy, but I can’t exactly get my books when there’s some random stranger cleaning out the mouth of his lady friend in front of my locker.

Anyways, I think you guys get the picture. Public education is, erm, DIFFERENT. So, are there any colorful characters in your school? I’d love to hear about ’em- just post a comment. You don’t have to sign up for anything. Merry early Christmas!

Peace, love, and Fran Drescher,
Cocoa Monster 😀

2 Responses

  1. i’m glad you are alright and that you are back, that makes me very very happy. I go to a girls school so we don’t have people making out in the hallways and also because i’m in the UK our schools aren’t really anything like what the books say. However i cannot speak for the private school (ones you pay for) as i got to a state school (funded by the government)

    Merry Christmas by the way, what did you ask for??

  2. First off: Your banner is lovely! 😀

    Did you take that picture yourself?

    Haha, oh public school can be different that’s for sure. The characters at my school are a bit…dramatic. I think that’s the only way I can really describe it. Lot’s of gasping and huffing and puffing and crazy girls. It’s very entertaining to watch. They always make up in the end anyway.

    OOoh…that sucks with your Locker buddy. Have you tried talking to her? Not like straight up “I need to get to my locker” but an actual conversation? Have a nice chat and then see if you can drop hints about the inability to get to your books xD

    I’m sure you’ll find your own groove soon. 🙂

    I’m so glad your back! I miss these blogs.

Leave a Reply

